India’s First Match Against Bangladesh Announced in ICC’s 2024 Men’s Under-19 World Cup Schedule

Cricket spectators around the world are eagerly awaiting the commencement of the ICC Men’s Under-19 World Cup 2024, as the International Cricket Council (ICC) unveiled the official schedule for this prestigious event. This upcoming tournament marks the 15th edition of the U19 World Cup and is all set to captivate cricket fans with thrilling contests hosted at five venues in the heart of Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Kick-off on January 13: Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe

The cricketing extravaganza is scheduled to kick off on January 13 and will run through to February 4, offering a month of cricketing excitement. The teams will also have the opportunity to fine-tune their skills during a series of warm-up games scheduled from January 6 to 12. The tournament opener is set to be a thrilling showdown between host nation Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Defending champions India vs 2020 champions Bangladesh

One of the most anticipated clashes in the early stages of the U19 World Cup will see defending champions India square off against the 2020 champions, Bangladesh. This high-octane encounter is scheduled for January 14 and promises to set the tone for the rest of the tournament.

Modified format: Groups and super six stage

The U19 World Cup 2024 introduces a slightly modified format, with the 16 participating teams initially divided into four groups, each comprising four teams. Notably, the top three teams from each group will secure their passage to the Super Six stage, where the competition is expected to intensify.

Also READ: Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell names the player to watch out for in the ODI World Cup 2023

Second chances: Fourth-placed teams return

Even for the fourth-placed teams in each group, the U19 World Cup offers a lifeline. They will have an additional opportunity to compete, facing off against another fourth-placed team before concluding their tournament journey.

Super six stage: Road to the finals

The Super Six stage will see the formation of two groups, each consisting of six teams. In these crucial matches, the top three teams from Groups A and D will form one group, while the top three teams from Groups B and C will constitute the other. This stage will feature each team playing two fixtures, pitting them against opponents from the opposing group based on their positions in the initial group stage.

The grand finale: Sinhalese sports club, Colombo

As the tournament progresses through its various stages, cricket enthusiasts can anticipate breathtaking matches, standout performances, and the emergence of promising young talents on the global stage. The journey culminates in the grand finale at the iconic Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo on Sunday, February 4, where the two top teams will vie for supremacy in the U19 World Cup.

Teams participating:

  • Through automatic qualification: Sri Lanka (hosts), Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe
  • Through regional qualification: Namibia (Africa Regional Qualifier), Nepal, New Zealand (EAP Regional Qualifier), Scotland (Europe Regional Qualifier), USA (Americas Regional Qualifier).


  • Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • P. Sara Oval. Colombo
  • Colombo Cricket Club
  • Singhalese Sports Club


  • Group A- India, Bangladesh, Ireland, USA
  • Groups B- England, South Africa, West Indies, Scotland
  • Group C- Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Namibia
  • Group D- Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, Nepal.

ICC Under-19 Men’s World Cup 2024 Full Schedule

  • January 13: Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • January 13: New Zealand vs Nepal, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 13: England vs Scotland, Colombo Cricket Club
  • January 14: Bangladesh vs India, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 14: Australia vs Namibia, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • January 14: South Africa vs West Indies, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 15: Pakistan vs Afghanistan, Colombo Cricket Club
  • January 15: Ireland vs USA, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 16: South Africa vs England, Colombo Cricket Club
  • January 16: Sri Lanka vs South Africa, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 17: Nepal vs Pakistan, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 17: West Indies vs Scotland, Colombo Cricket Club
  • January 17: Namibia vs Zimbabwe, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 18: India vs USA, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 18: Afghanistan vs New Zealand, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 18: Bangladesh vs Ireland, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • January 19: Zimbabwe vs Australia, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 19: England vs West Indies, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 20: India vs Ireland, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • January 20: Scotland vs South Africa, Colombo Cricket Club
  • January 20: Afghanistan vs Nepal, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 21: Pakistan vs New Zealand, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 21: Sri Lanka vs Namibia, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 21: USA vs Bangladesh, Colombo Cricket Club
  • January 23: A4 vs D4, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 23: B4 vs C4, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 24: A1 vs D2, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 24: C2 vs B3, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • January 24: C1 vs B2, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 25: D3 vs A2, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 25: C3 vs B1, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 25: D1 vs A3, Colombo Cricket Club
  • January 26: B3 vs C1, Singhalese Sports Club
  • January 27: A1 vs D3, P. Sara Oval.
  • January 27: D2 vs A3, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • January 27: B1 vs C2, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 28: B2 vs C3, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • January 28: D1 vs A2, Nondescripts Cricket Club
  • January 30: Semi-final 1, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • February 1: Semi-final 2, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium
  • February 4: Final, R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium

Also READ: ICC reveals three venues for the USA leg of the T20 World Cup 2024

Leave a Comment

Share to...