Murali Vijay selects likely Indian squad of 15 for T20 World Cup 2024, excludes Sanju Samson

Murali Vijay selects likely Indian squad of 15 for T20 World Cup 2024, excludes Sanju Samson

Former Indian opener Murali Vijay has stirred the pot with his picks for India’s probable 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. His selections included some expected names but also some surprising omissions.

Openers and Middle-Order

Vijay opted for a mix of experience and youth at the top, selecting in-form openers Shubman Gill and Yashasvi Jaiswal. Seasoned campaigners Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav find their place in the middle order, alongside skipper Rohit Sharma.

Keeping Controversy

The biggest talking point is the inclusion of both KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant in the squad. While Rohit is expected to be the primary opener, Vijay has surprisingly picked Rahul as a wicketkeeper as well, leaving the talented Sanju Samson out of contention. This decision is likely to spark debate amongst fans and pundits alike.

Bowling Attack

Vijay’s bowling attack boasts a lethal combination of pace and spin. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Mayank Yadav form the pace attack, while the spin department features the wily duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav. The inclusion of Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja adds experience and vital all-round abilities.

Also READ: T20 World Cup 2024 – South Africa announces 15-member squad; no place for Temba Bavuma

Surprise Pick

The selection of T Natarajan is a bit of a surprise, with some arguing that other fast bowlers might be in better form. However, Vijay might be valuing Natarajan’s death bowling skills.

Overall,Vijay’s picks offer a strong squad on paper, but the omission of Sanju and the dual wicket-keeping role for  Rahul are sure to generate discussion and debate.

It’s important to note that this is not the official Indian squad for the T20 World Cup. The final selection will be made by the BCCI selectors on May 1st.

Murali Vijay’s India squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rohit Sharma (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mayank Yadav, T Natarajan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper)

Also READ: Aaron Finch picks India’s squad for the T20 World Cup; rules KL Rahul and Shubman Gill out


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *