Qualification for T20 World Cup 2024: Pakistan and New Zealand’s path

Qualification for T20 World Cup 2024: Pakistan and New Zealand’s path

Following New Zealand and Pakistan‘s exit from the Super 8 stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, social media buzzed with claims that these teams would need to compete in qualifiers to earn a place in the next World Cup. However, updated information indicates that their situation may not be as bleak as initially presented.

Rules for automatic qualification

As the joint hosts of the 2026 T20 World Cup, India and Sri Lanka will receive direct entry into the tournament. According to the qualification rules, 12 of the 20 participating teams will qualify automatically. This means India and Sri Lanka are assured spots as hosts, along with all teams that make it to the Super 8 stage in the current World Cup. India has already secured a place in the Super 8 from Group A, meeting the qualification criteria twice over.

Teams earning direct entry

Teams that have advanced to the Super 8 and thus earned direct entry into the 2026 World Cup include South Africa (Group D), West Indies and Afghanistan (Group C), Australia (Group B), and USA (Group A). Either Bangladesh or Netherlands will advance from Group D, while Scotland and England are vying for a Super 8 position from Group B. Including Sri Lanka, this totals nine teams, with three additional teams to be selected based on the ICC Men’s T20I rankings as of June 30, 2024.

Also READ: Shahid Afridi lambasts Babar Azam for taking over captaincy from Shaheen Afridi ahead of T20 World Cup 2024

How Pakistan and New Zealand can qualify for the next edition

Pakistan, even if their match against Ireland in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, is washed out on Monday, can still qualify directly for the 2026 edition. Pakistan are currently seventh in the T20I rankings with 241 rating points, while New Zealand, also facing an early exit, are sixth with 247 points. Both teams are significantly ahead of lower-ranked teams like Bangladesh (9th with 226 points) and Ireland (11th with 195 points), among others.

Regional qualification pathway

The remaining eight teams for the 2026 T20 World Cup will be determined through the ICC’s regional qualification pathway. This includes two teams each from Europe, Asia, and Africa, and one each from the East Asia Pacific and Americas regions. In the current edition, the teams that qualified through regional pathways are Ireland and Scotland (Europe), Nepal and Oman (Asia), Namibia and Uganda (Africa), Canada (Americas), and Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific). The USA gained entry as a joint host.

Also READ: Fielding coach T Dilip names Team India’s ‘best fielders’ in the T20 World Cup 2024


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *