T20 World Cup 2024: Award Winners & Prize Money

T20 World Cup 2024: Award Winners & Prize Money

In a sensational climax to the T20 World Cup 2024, India ended their 11-year wait for a global title with a thrilling seven-run victory over South Africa. The final, played out in front of a packed stadium, saw Virat Kohli’s commanding 76 runs and Rohit Sharma’s strategic captaincy propel India to a memorable triumph.

India holds nerve to clinch the T20 World Cup 2024 title

The Men in Blue set a target of 176-7, anchored by Kohli’s stellar performance. His innings was a masterclass in T20 batting, blending aggression with calculated risk, which earned him the Player of the Match award. Rohit’s leadership was pivotal, as he marshalled his team with precision and composure.

South Africa’s Heinrich Klaasen offered a formidable challenge with a blistering 52 off 27 balls. His aggressive batting brought the Proteas side within striking distance, but India’s bowlers held their nerve. In a tense final over, Hardik Pandya successfully defended 16 runs under immense pressure. South Africa concluded their innings at 169-8, just seven-run short of the target.

The victory sparked jubilant celebrations among Indian fans, marking the end of an 11-year wait for a major trophy. Emotions ran high as Kohli, a linchpin throughout the tournament, announced his retirement from T20 internationals. His departure was followed by Rohit, who also bid farewell to the shortest format in the post-match interview.

Also READ: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma announce retirement from T20 internationals after India’s T20 World Cup 2024 triumph

India’s victory in the T20 World Cup final not only ended a title drought but also heralded the end of an era, as two of their cricketing stalwarts stepped down from T20Is, leaving behind a legacy of excellence and inspiration.

T20 World Cup 2024 Final Awards:

  • Winners: India – $2.45 million
  • Runners up: South Africa – $1.28 million
  • Smart Catch of the Match: Suryakumar Yadav – $3000
  • Player of the Match: Virat Kohli – $5000
  • Player of the Tournament: Jasprit Bumrah – $15000
  • Semi-finalists: England and Afghanistan – $787,500 each
  • Eliminated in 2nd round: USA, West Indies, Australia, Bangladesh – $382,500 each
  • 9th to 12th place: Pakistan, Scotland, New Zealand, Sri Lanka – $247,500 each
  • 13th to 20th place: Netherlands, Nepal, Uganda, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Oman, Ireland, Canada – $225,000 each
  • Additional prize per match win (excluding semi-finals and finals) – $31,154

Also READ: Fans and experts go wild as Team India ends trophy drought with a thrilling win over South Africa in T20 World Cup 2024 final


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *