Rangers have accused the SFA of selectively enforcing their rules after former defender John Brown was charged by the governing body for claiming a controversial refereeing call was âcorruptâ.
And they have vowed to back the 63-year-old who, while working as a club TV commentator at Easter Road on May 17, was incensed that his side were denied a goal when Rocky Bushiri scrambled to clear Nico Raskinâs effort.
With Rangers adamant the ball had crossed the line, Hibs went up the park and equalised in a match which ended 2-2. With neither referee Nick Walsh, his assistants or VAR Andrew Dallas able to conclude that the Belgianâs effort should have stood, Brown said on air: âI would say it is corrupt.â
Commentator Tom Miller replied: âWell, Iâm not sure we can actually say thatâ. But Brown replied: âWell, I am saying itâ.
Rangers later slammed the decision and called for the introduction of goal-line technology, but Brown has still been charged.
The Ibrox club described Brownâs comment as âspontaneousâ and âemotionalâ, and pointed out that an independent panel had also arrived at the conclusion that a goal should have been awarded.
John Brown claimed that decision not to award Rangers goal after ball appeared to cross the line was ‘corrupt’

Hibs defender Rocky Bushiri scrambled to clear Nicolas Raskin’s effort from goal line

Referee Nick Walsh and his team were unable to conclude if the ball had crossed the line
A spokesperson said: âRangers FC has submitted a full response to the Scottish FAâs Notice of Complaint concerning a remark made during commentary of the Hibernian v Rangers match at the end of last season. The club firmly denies any breach of Scottish FA rules.
âWe are surprised that a complaint has been raised at all, given the context of the comment and the Scottish FAâs prior treatment of similar incidents.
âOur response highlights that the Scottish FAâs own Key Match Incident Panel judged that the refereeâs decision on the day was incorrect, with four out of five panel members agreeing that a goal should have been awarded to Rangers. That finding helps explain the nature of a spontaneous emotional comment, delivered during a highly charged moment and immediately challenged live on air.
âOur response also sets out serious concerns about the Scottish FAâs selective enforcement and inconsistency. We have highlighted multiple examples of similar or stronger remarks made elsewhere in Scottish football that have led to no charges or sanctions.
âWhile we remain committed to maintaining high standards, we will continue to challenge any action we consider to be unfair or disproportionate. For many supporters, this charge only adds to the wider frustration surrounding regulatory oversight in recent months when there are more serious issues in the game to tackle, including improving officiating standards for the benefit of Scottish football.â
While the SFA-convened Key Match Incident panel, which is made up of individuals with experience from across the game, believed a goal should have been given, Hampden head of referees Willie Collum backed the match officials.
Speaking on his VAR Review Show, he pointed to criticism of officials after they ruled out a Daizen Maeda goal against Hibs earlier in the season, when the ball was judged to have gone out of play before Alistair Johnston crossed to set up Maedaâs âgoalâ.
âLetâs go back to two incidents this season first – Hibs vs Celtic, possible ball over the line, and Dundee United vs Hibs, possible handball before it goes into the goal,â Collum said.

Club TV co-commentator John Brown was adamant that a goal should have been awarded

Hampden head of referees Willie Collum backed the match officials over their decision
âWe were criticised for both of those decisions, and rightly so, because ultimately, there was no conclusive evidence.
âI know people who would look at this decision and say: âThat camera angle, for me, is conclusiveâ. But the reality is, that camera angle is at an angle looking in the way, thereâs nothing directly in line there.
âIâve quoted before, in a World Cup match, there was a similar angle shown in a Japan game (against Spain in 2022) where, if youâd used that angle, you would say the ball was over the line.
âThen when you line it up directly in line, it only needs a slight part of the ball to be touching that line.
âCan the VAR and the AVAR there categorically, 100 per cent, say the ball was over the line? Not for us.
âDo I think it crossed the line? I think thereâs a good chance it did.
âBut can I be absolutely certain of that? No.
âWeâve been criticised previously, weâve now moved to say weâll only give a decision like that if weâve got 100 per cent conclusive evidence, so the VAR and AVAR are correct to say there that they donât have that evidence.â
Brown has been charged with breaching article 29.2 of the rules which reads: âA club or recognised football body which publishes, distributes, issues, sells or authorises a third party to publish, distribute, issue or sell a match programme or any other publication or audio/visual material of any description in any media now existing or hereinafter invented, including but not limited to the Internet, social networking or micro-blogging sites, shall ensure that any such publications or audio/visual material does not contain any criticism of any match official calculated to indicate bias or incompetence on the part of such match official or to impinge upon his character.â