Zverev’s Bad Luck: Crucial 2mm Error in French Open Final

Zverev’s Bad Luck: Crucial 2mm Error in French Open Final

Alexander Zverev was left seething after a crucial line call went against him in the fifth set of his French Open final with Carlos Alcaraz on Sunday.

The two men shared the opening four sets, before Alcaraz opened up an early lead in the decider, but Zverev fashioned two opportunities to break back and square things up at 2-2.

The first break point saw Alcaraz hit a second serve that Zverev was adamant had gone out, but he was overruled by the chair umpire, who even came down from his seat to check the mark in the clay.

Following further inspection, the umpire stuck with his decision to the disbelief of Zverev, and Alcaraz was awarded the point. With Hawkeye unavailable at Roland Garros, Zverev had to accept the call and play on, but television replays later showed that Alcaraz’s serve had actually been out by 2mm and the point should have gone to Zverev.

It proved to be a huge moment in the match as Alcaraz went on to hold before dominating the remainder of the set to take it 6-2, sealing his first French Open title in the process.

Alexander Zverev was adamant that Carlos Alcaraz’s second serve had gone out

He argued with the umpire but the ball was called in and Alcaraz won the point before going on to hold serve

He argued with the umpire but the ball was called in and Alcaraz won the point before going on to hold serve

TV replays showed the ball had gone out by 2mm and Zverev should have won the point

TV replays showed the ball had gone out by 2mm and Zverev should have won the point

Zverev, 27, is still waiting for his first grand slam after losing in two finals, and admitted his latest defeat was tough to take after learning that the umpire got the line call wrong.

‘In the fifth set there were moments when I was unlucky,’ Zverev said at his post-match press conference.

‘I heard that the 2-1 ball was out, that his second serve was gone according to Hawkeye. If I broke there, the fifth set could have ended differently.

‘There is a difference if you are 3-1 down in the fifth set or if you are tied 2-2. It is a defining difference. And in the end it is frustrating, but it is what it is. 

‘Referees make mistakes, they are also human and that’s it. But of course in a situation like this you want there to be no mistakes.’

Alcaraz now has three grand slams to his name, and will defend his Wimbledon crown next month.

Zverev will also be in action at SW19, where Hawkeye will be in use. He has never previously progressed beyond the fourth round at the tournament.

His defeat in the final on Philippe Chatrier came at the end of a tournament that saw him involved in a legal case away from the court.

Zverev could not get back into the match and ended up losing the deciding set 6-2

Zverev could not get back into the match and ended up losing the deciding set 6-2

Alcaraz picked up his third grand slam title, and his first at Roland Garros

Alcaraz picked up his third grand slam title, and his first at Roland Garros

Zverev settled an assault case with his ex-girlfriend out of court with no admission of guilt last week after being accused of strangling the mother of his child during an argument in May 2020.

He later fumed at reporters for bringing up the case at his press conference and urged them not to ask him about it again.

Comments

No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *