The summit clash of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 saw the high-profile clash between the 2009 champions Pakistan National Cricket Team led by Babar Azam and the 2010 champions England National Cricket Team led by Jos Buttler. The blockbuster final was played at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday, November 13.

England National Cricket Team avenged the 1992 Benson & Hedges World Cup final defeat by winning the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 final against Pakistan National Cricket Team by 5 wickets.

Notably, the Imran Khan-led Pakistan National Cricket Team defeated the Graham Gooch-led England National Cricket Team by 22 runs in the final of the 1992 Benson & Hedges World Cup at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on March 25.

Earlier, England National Cricket Team won the toss and opted to field first in the match. Both the teams made no changes to their playing XI and they fielded the same team as they did in the semi-finals.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Pakistan vs England
Pakistan vs England (PC-Getty Images)

Opening the innings, Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam were off to a cautious start and they played their natural game. Rizwan and Babar added 29 runs in 27 balls before left-arm pacer Sam Curran dismissed the former on the 2nd ball of the 5th over. The wicketkeeper-batter Rizwan scored 15 runs off 14 balls.

The 34-year-old England leg-spinner Adil Rashid once again delivered a great performance as he picked up the wickets of young Mohammad Haris, who has been the aggressor for Pakistan, and captain Babar Azam. Babar scored 32 runs off 28 balls and Haris scored 8 runs off 12 balls. Rashid, meanwhile, finished his spell with the figures of 4-1-22-2.

The 32-year-old batter Iftikhar Ahmed failed miserably in the match as he failed to get off the mark on the first 5 deliveries and on the 6th delivery he was cleaned up by Ben Stokes.

Then, Shan Masood and Shadab Khan tried to provide some stability to the Pakistan innings and they added 36 runs in 25 balls. Masood was cleaned up by Sam Curran in the 17th over and Shadab was sent back by Chris Jordan in the 18th over. Masood scored 38 runs off 28 balls and Shadab Khan scored 20 runs off 14 balls.

Overall, Pakistan were extremely poor with the bat in the last 5 overs as they scored only 31 runs and lost 4 wickets to get restricted to 137/8.

Sam Curran
Sam Curran. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Sam Curran was once again the best bowler for his side as he finished his spell with the figures of 4-0-12 -3. Also, Adil Rashid and Chris Jordan bagged two wickets each while Ben Stokes picked up one wicket.

Chasing the target, England lost the wicket of in-form opener Alex Hales in the first over, which was bowled by Shaheen Shah Afridi. However, England captain Jos Buttler batted brilliantly and played his natural aggressive game.

Express pacer Haris Rauf got the next two breakthroughs for his side as he dismissed Philip Salt in the 4th over and Jos Buttler in the 6th over. Buttler smashed 26 runs off 17 balls, including 3 fours and 1 six, while Salt scored 10 runs off 9 balls, including 2 fours.

Then, Ben Stokes and Harry Brook added 39 runs in 42 balls before the latter was dismissed by Shadab Khan in the 13th over.

Also, Pakistan pace spearhead Shaheen Shah Afridi walked off the field after bowling 2.1 overs of his spell due to a knee injury, which proved costly for the Men In Green.

In the end, big-match performer Ben Stokes remained unbeaten and scored 52 runs off 49 balls, including 5 fours and 1 six, to help England win their second T20 World Cup title. This was Stokes’ first half-century in the shortest international format of the game.

Ben Stokes. PC- Getty
Ben Stokes. PC- Getty

Also, England have become the first-ever team to hold the 50-over World Cup title and 20-over World Cup title at the same time.

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To ICC T20 World Cup Final Between Pakistan and England:




Also Read: PAK vs ENG: REVEALED- Why England Cricket Team Is Wearing Black Armbands In 2022 T20 World Cup Final


Twitter Reacts As England Avenge 1992 World Cup Defeat By Winning T20 World Cup 2022 Final vs Pakistan