Wimbledon row erupts over Hawk-Eye as Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram refuse to play on in doubles quarter-final

Date:

A WIMBLEDON doubles quarter-final was briefly stopped when pair Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram REFUSED to return to the court following a marginal Hawk-Eye call.

A set up and with the score at 5-5 in the second, the No1 seeds thought they had clinched a vital break against Nicolas Mahut and Edouard Roger-Vasselin.

Salisbury, right, and Ram, left, were furious with the decision

3

Salisbury, right, and Ram, left, were furious with the decisionCredit: Getty
This was how Hawk-Eye saw the line call towards the end of the second set

3

This was how Hawk-Eye saw the line call towards the end of the second setCredit: BBC
The pair briefly refused to carry on playing as they called for Hawk-Eye to be turned off

3

The pair briefly refused to carry on playing as they called for Hawk-Eye to be turned offCredit: BBC

Mahut and Roger-Vasselin challenged the call and were successful as Hawk-Eye showed their shot had touched the line.

Salisbury and Ram were left furious with the decision, with the latter shouting: “No way man! That is absolutely ridiculous.”

Salisbury then insisted they would not continue playing until Hawk-Eye was turned off – something umpire Fergus Murphy refused to do.

Ram went on: “There’s no way. No way at all. We’re turning the machine off. We’re not in the future here man.

All of the info on how to follow the HUGE Wimbledon semi-final at SW19
Enter tonight's 8pm draw to win a Mercedes or £37k cash alternative from 89p

“There is NO chance that is in. You know it is wrong. Can you get the supervisor?”

A supervisor eventually came out and insisted they were investigating, before telling Salisbury and Ram to continue with the match.

They did so and went on to lose the second set 7-6.

The British-American duo managed to recover their composure in the third set to take it 6-1.

BETTING SPECIAL – LATEST OFFERS AND FREE BETS FOR WIMBLEDON

The supervisor re-emerged after three games of the third set to insist they believed the controversial call was correct.

To which Ram replied: “Really?!”

Their opponents refused to go away though and in the fourth it was Mahut and Roger-Vasselin who raced into a 3-0 lead.

Ram and Salisbury already have two Grand Slam doubles titles to their name.

They won the 2020 Australian Open and followed that up with a triumph at the 2021 US Open.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular

More like this
Related

What is a scrum in rugby union?

IT takes 16 beefy rugby players, patience and a...

Chelsea transfer news – striker odds: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang leads list of most likely signing options

PIERRE-EMERICK AUBAMEYANG is the favourite amongst a list of...