Potential winners of the 2023 ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year Award

4 Min Read

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year Award holds immense significance in the world of cricket. It serves as a prestigious recognition of outstanding performances and contributions in the shortest format of the game, T20 internationals.

Significance of T20I cricketer of the year award

The dynamic and fast-paced nature of T20I cricket makes this award particularly coveted, as it spotlights players who have excelled in navigating the challenges and showcasing their skills on the international T20 stage. Winning this award is a testament to a player’s excellence in T20 cricket and contributes to their legacy in the sport.

5 Potential candidates for ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2023:

While predicting the winner is speculative, several players could be strong contenders based on their performances leading up to 2023. Some names that may be in consideration include:

1. Suryakumar Yadav: A strong contender for back-to-back wins

Suryakumar Yadav (Image Source: Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadav, the current number one ranked T20I batter, and the previous year’s Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, continued to showcase his remarkable batting skills in 2023. Scoring 577 runs in 16 games at an average of 44 and a striking rate of 152.64, he hit four half-centuries and one century for India, making him a strong contender for winning the award for the second consecutive year.

2. Mohammad Rizwan: Pakistan’s explosive wicketkeeper-batter

Mohammad Rizwan
Mohammad Rizwan (Image Source: Twitter)

Mohammad Rizwan, the explosive wicketkeeper-batter from Pakistan, was the second-highest scorer in T20Is last year after Suryakumar Yadav. Despite featuring in fewer T20I matches this year, Rizwan continued to display brilliance in the shortest format. Scoring 162 runs in five fixtures with an average of 54 and a striking rate of around 140, he showcased excellence both with the bat and behind the stumps.

3. Rashid Khan: Afghanistan’s spin wizard

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan (Image Source: Twitter)

Rashid Khan, one of the most successful bowlers in T20I cricket, is a strong contender for the prestigious award. In eight games this year, the Afghanistan leg-spinner picked eight wickets with an average of 21. His remarkable economy rate of around 5.34 highlighted the consistent pressure he maintained over batters, creating opportunities for his team.

Also READ: ICC reveals five players whose recent form elevates their T20 World Cup 2024 chances

4. Wanindu Hasaranga: Sri Lanka’s magician with ball and bat

Wanindu Hasaranga
Wanindu Hasaranga (Image Source: Twitter)

Sri Lankan magician with the ball, Wanindu Hasaranga, demonstrated his all-round prowess in six T20I games this year. He picked up five wickets and also contributed valuable runs with the bat down the order by scoring 60 runs in combined in those six games with an extraordinary strike rate of 166. Hasaranga’s impactful performances make him a strong contender for the award.

5. Shakib Al Hasan: Bangladesh’s all-round maestro

Shakib al Hasan
Shakib al Hasan (Image Source: Twitter)

Shakib Al Hasan, the linchpin of the Bangladesh side, excelled in the shortest format in eight matches this year. Grabbing 12 wickets with an outstanding average of 12 and contributing with the bat by scoring 139 runs with an average of 46, Shakib showcased his all-round mastery, making him a key contender for the Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award this year.

Also WATCH: Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel engage in war of words during practice session in Canberra – PAK vs AUS

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *