Sri Lanka’s 16-man squad for Afghanistan T20Is revealed: Binura Fernando steps in for injured Dushmantha Chameera

2 Min Read

The Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee, on Monday, announced their men’s squad for the upcoming T20I series against Afghanistan. Right-arm fast bowler Binura Fernando has been named as a like-to-like replacement for Dushmantha Chameera, who suffered an injury during the ongoing ODI series against the Afghan team.

Wanindu Hasaranga will continue to lead Sri Lanka’s T20I team

Leading the charge for Sri Lanka will be Wanindu Hasaranga, who assumes the role of captain, with Charith Asalanka serving as vice-captain. The squad comprises a mix of experienced campaigners and emerging talents, including Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis and Angelo Mathews, among others.

Binura Fernando’s inclusion in the squad as a replacement for the sidelined Dushmantha Chameera, offers the team additional depth in the bowling department. With a blend of seasoned performers and promising youngsters, Sri Lanka aims to put forth a formidable challenge against Afghanistan in the upcoming T20I series.

The T20I leg is slated to unfold at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium on February 17, 19 and 21. All matches are scheduled to begin at 7:00 pm local time.

Sri Lanka’s T20I squad for Afghanistan series:

Wanindu Hasaranga (captain), Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Akila Dananjaya, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *